Home | RBHS | Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
About Us Divisions Centers & Programs Faculty & Staff Publications Events

Faculty & Staff

Louise B. Russell, Ph.D.
Chair, Division on Health Policy
Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research
Distinguished Professor, Department of Economics


Louise B. Russell (Ph.D., Economics, Harvard) is Distinguished Professor at the Institute and in the Department of Economics, Rutgers University. Her research focuses on the methods and application of cost-effectiveness analysis. Before coming to Rutgers, Dr. Russell was a Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution in Washington DC. Elected to membership in the National Academy of Medicine (NAM, formerly the Institute of Medicine) of the National Academy of Sciences in 1983, she has served on several NAM committees, including the National Cancer Policy Board (2001-2005) and the Committee on Valuing Community-Based, Non-Clinical Prevention Policies and Wellness Strategies (2011-2012).

Dr. Russell co-chaired the U.S. Public Health Service Panel on Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine, which published recommendations for improving the quality and comparability of cost-effectiveness studies in a book (Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine, Oxford University Press, 1996), and three articles in The Journal of the American Medical Association (October 1996). She was one of a group of five leaders in the field who, from 2011 through 2016, organized and facilitated the work of the Second Panel on Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine, which updated the book to reflect the many advances in cost-effectiveness analysis since 1996. Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine, second edition, was published by Oxford University Press in October 2016.

She is an associate editor of the journal Medical Decision Making and was deputy editor 2011-2015. She has published many articles and seven books, including Is Prevention Better than Cure? (Brookings, 1986).


Current Projects
Curriculum Vitae (.pdf)

Go To:

Non-Tenured Track(NTT):
NTT Faculty Policy